## **ALLAMAKEE COUNTY BOS • MINUTES 01.06.2025**

## MINUTES OF THE ALLAMAKEE **COUNTY BOARD OF** SUPERVISORS **MONDAY, JANUARY 6, 2025**

(UNOFFICIAL) Board members present: Byrnes, Keatley, and Clark. All members voting "AYE" unless noted. Meeting called to order Byrnes, followed by Pledge of Allegiance. 25.017-Motion Keatley/Second Clark to approve today's agenda and minutes from December 30 and January 2, 2025. Motion Car-

The following people were present at various times throughout the meeting in person or via Zoom: Joseph Moses - Standard newspaper, Denise Beyer - Auditor/Clerk to Supervisors, Jackie Cooper, Laurie Moody, Amy Bresnahan, Chris Troendle.

Public Comment: None 25.018- Motion Clark/Second Keatley to appoint Dr. Thomas McMullan for 3-year term on Board of Health and Lori Egan for 2-year term and Keith Bresnahan for 5-vear terms on Planning & Zoning Commission. Motion carried.

25.019-Motion Keatley/Second Clark to appoint members to the 2025 Compensation Commission as follows: Ag property owners: Tom Weighner Daryl Schultz, Dennis Nebendahl, Jeff Lange, Tom Regan; Real Estate agents: Jack Sweeney; City property owners: Brian Houlihan, Dennis Blocker, Jeff Mitchell, Jill Mathis, Teresa Severson: Bankers/Auctioneers: Jim Kerndt, Brian Mahoney, Paul Whalen, Jeff Sweeney. Motion carried.

Jackie Cooper thanked Supervisors for their past support, gave a Main Street Lansing update and made a FY26 funding request of \$5,000. Funds would be used for additional events and marketing to bring people to Lansing.

Chris Troendle gave information on overall NE Iowa Regional Housing Trust Fund spending on housing projects in Allamakee and area counties and made budget requests for FY26, FY27 and FY28. Department Head updates: Laurie

Moody gave update on lagoons at Sheriff's office. Auditor Beyer gave department and budget process updates. 25.020-Motion Keatley/Second

Clark to adjourn. Motion carried. Dan Byrnes, Chairperson ATTEST:

Denise Bever, Auditor Following the meeting, Supervisors and Auditor Beyer held a short work session kicking off the FY26

budget process.

Dan Byrnes, Chairperson

ATTEST:

Denise Beyer, Auditor Published in the Postville Herald on January 15, 2024.

## ALLAMAKEE COUNTY BOS • MINUTES 01.02.2025

## MINUTES OF THE ALLAMAKEE COUNTY BOARD OF **SUPERVISORS** THURSDAY, JANUARY 2, 2025

(UNOFFICIAL)
Board members present: Byrnes,

Keatley, and Clark. All members voting "AYE" unless noted.

Meeting called to order by Auditor Clerk Kim Engrav, followed by Pledge of Allegiance. Engrav asked for a motion to appoint 2025 Chairperson and Chairperson Pro-Tem.

25.001-Motion Keatley/Second Clark to appoint Dan Byrnes as Chairnerson of Board of Supervisors for 2025. Motion carried. 25.002-Motion Clark/Second By-

rnes to appoint Dennis Keatley as Chairperson Pro Tem for 2025. Motion carried. 25.003-Motion Keatley/Second

Clark to approve today's agenda and minutes from December 30, 2024. Motion Carried.

Chairperson Dan Byrnes took over as Chair for the remainder of

the meeting.
The following people were present at various times throughout the meeting in person or via Zoom: Joseph Moses – Standard newspaper, Kimberly Engrav - Audi-

tor Clerk, Clark Mellick, and Ross

Geerdes. Public Comment:

None 25.004-Motion Clark/Second Keatley for Board of Supervisors to meet on Mondays at 9:00 a.m. in 2025 with the first 10 minutes for Public Comment time. Motion carried.

Supervisors reviewed the list of Board/Commission appointments. 25.005-Motion Keatley/Second Clark to appoint Board of Supervisors as members to boards/commissions/committees as follows -Dan Byrnes - Chairperson, Allamakee County Revolving Loan Fund, Allamakee County Board of Health, Allamakee County Substance Abuse Board, Iowa Workforce Development Chief Elected Officials Board, Northeast Iowa Community Action Executive Board, Northeast Iowa Community Action Transit Board, Northeast Iowa Regional Housing Trust Fund, Regional Upper Explorerland Revolving Loan Fund, Upper Ex-

plorerland Regional Housing Au-

thority, Alternate: Emergency Management Commission, Alternate: Northeast Iowa Juvenile Detention Board, Alternate: DOT Policy Board RPA-1, Alternate: County Social Services Board of Directors;

Tom Clark - Courthouse, Allamakee County E911 Board, Allamakee County Economic Development Executive Board, Allamakee County Farm, Allamakee County Conservation Board, 28E Board, DECAT Empowerment, Northeast Iowa Behavioral Health Board Northeast Iowa Juvenile Detention Board, Alternate: Emergency Management Commission, Alternate: Board of Directors of Judicial Dis-

trict Dept of Corrections; Dennis "Corky" Keatley - Chairperson Pro -Tem, County Social Services Board of Directors, Northeast Iowa Response Group, Board of Directors of Judicial District Dept of Corrections, Resource, Conservation & Development Board (RC&D), DOT Policy Board RPA-1, Upper Explorerland Regional Planning Commission Board and UERPC Executive Board, Emergency Management Commission, Alternate: Northeast Iowa Regional Housing Trust Fund

All Board members represented on the following Boards/Commissions/Committees - Allamakee County Conference Board, Allamakee County Economic Development, Roadside Management, Allamakee County Planning & Zoning Board, Allamakee County Solid Waste; Allamakee County Historical Society. Motion carried.

25.006-Motion Clark/Second Keatley to name the Postville Herald and Waukon Standard as official newspapers of Allamakee County for 2025. Motion carried.

25.007-Motion Clark/Second Keatley to approve resolution to set county mileage reimbursement rate for 2025 at \$0.50/mile. Roll call: Clark-ave: Byrnes-ave: Keatley-aye. Motion carried. (Full text of resolution available in Auditor's office)

25.008-Motion Keatley/Second Clark to approve 2025 bounties for coyotes at \$5.00 each and gophers at \$0.50 (fifty cents) per pair for front feet, and feet must be in clear bags with no more than 10 pair per bag. Motion carried.

25.009-Motion Keatley/Second

Clark to appoint Corey Snitker as alternate voter for Board of Supervisors on NE Iowa Response Group. Motion carried.

25.010-Motion Keatley/Second Clark to appoint Laurie Moody as Allamakee County's 2025 Weed

Commissioner. Motion carried. 25.011-Motion Clark/Second Keatley to approve paying the following 2025 wages for Precinct Election Officials: \$15 per training for election trainings; regular PEOs \$200 per day and precinct Chairpersons \$250 per day; alternate PEOs \$15 per training and \$50 on-call pay if they are not called to work; Health Care Facility team and Absentee Board members \$12/hour and HCF and Absentee Chairpersons \$15/hour with minimum pay of 2 hours for HCF and Absentee Board; plus mileage for all positions. Motion carried.

25.012 -Motion Keatley/Second Clark to adopt the Construction Evaluation Resolution/Master Matrix for February 1, 2025 to January 31, 2026 for Allamakee County. Roll call: Clark-aye; Byrnes-aye; Keatley-aye. Motion carried. (Full text of resolution available in Auditor's office)

25.013-Motion Keatley/Second Clark to approve resolution authorizing Engineer to execute the Certification of Final Completion of Work for all Farm-to-Market and federal or state aid construction projects. Roll Call: Clark-aye; Byrnes-aye; Keatley-aye. Motion carried. (Full text of resolution available in Auditor's office)

Board appointments were discussed and applications reviewed. 25.014- Motion Clark/Second Keatley to appoint Jeanne Stein to Board of Health for 3-year term. Motion Carried 25.015- Motion Keatley/Second

Clark to appoint Marilyn Clark for Conservation Board for 5-year term. Motion carried. Department Head updates:

Corey Snitker gave a department updated. Ross Geerdes gave a department update.

25.016-Motion Keatley/Second Clark to adjourn. Motion carried. Dan Byrnes, Chairperson

Kimberly Engrav, Auditor Clerk
Published in the Postville Herald on January 15, 2024.